EKU Update HomeA Newsletter for Eastern Kentucky University Faculty & Staff
Volume 10 • Number 6
Nov. 5, 2008
spacer Printable VersionPrint this issuespacer
In this issue:

Tickets Go on Sale Nov. 6 for 38th Annual Madrigal Feastes
Tickets will go on sale Thursday, Nov. 6, for Eastern?s 38th annual Madrigal Feastes.

The 22-member University Singers, under the direction of Dr. Sue Ellen Ballard, will join with Aramark Dining Services to present the Feaste on Friday, Dec. 12, and Saturday, Dec. 13, in the Grand Ballroom of the Keen Johnson Building. The doors open at 6:30 p.m. nightly, with seating beginning at 6:45. The first fanfare will sound at 7.

Tickets, $26 each, can be purchased in the Colonel 1 Office, Room 17 of the Powell Building. Visa and MasterCard reservations may be made by calling 622-2179.

The Feaste, which recreates 16th century English madrigal dinners, is divided into two segments. First, the guests will enjoy a seven-course meal, during which the Singers will entertain with light Christmas selections. This year?s meal consists of Wassail Bowle, Quiche Lorraine, Stilton Cheese and Ale Soup, English Round Breads, Beefe Medallions served over Long Grain Wilde Rice, Haricot Vert, Christesmesse Pudding, and beverage.

Following the meal, the Singers, accompanied by faculty and student instrumentalists on period instruments, will present a concert consisting of familiar madrigal selections from leading composers such as William Byrd, Thomas Morley, John Dowland, Orlando di Lasso and others.

EKU faculty members Alice Jones and David Eakin will play Lady of the Misrule and Lord of the Keen Johnson Hall respectively, bringing experienced period acting to the production. Rounding out the players will University staff members Carol Siler of WEKU as Lady of the Keen Johnson Hall and Marc Whitt, associate vice president of Public Relations and Marketing, who will play Lord of the Misrule.

?This is the perfect time to set aside a few hours to stop the rush of the holiday season and enjoy being served,? Ballard said. ?Invite friends and family to join one of EKU's longest running musical traditions of beautiful singing, nice delicacies, and good laughter.?

University Singers members are: Jessica Marshall, Abby Day, Tyler Hammons, Ikia Daughtery, Megan Posey, Caitlyn Kogge, Jordan Nickell, Jonathan Goshorn, Laura Scott, Rebekah Logsdon, Casey Scott, Eric Jackson, Teresa Smyser, Jessica Slaton, Dillon Smallwood, Darnaby Kerns, Amanda Thacher, Kayla Spurlock, Landon Westerfield, Alvie Snyder, Virginia Wilson and Emily Sutton.

Members of the music fraternity Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia will serve.