EKU Update HomeA Newsletter for Eastern Kentucky University Faculty & Staff
Volume 12 • Number 5
Oct. 13, 2010
spacer Printable VersionPrint this issuespacer
In this issue:

Whitlock, Moberly, CRAFT among Bluegrass Tomorrow Honorees
President Whitlock, Executive Vice President for Administration Harry Moberly Jr. and the University?s Center for Renewable and Alternative Fuel Technologies will be among the honorees at Bluegrass Tomorrow?s Vision Awards Breakfast on Friday, Oct. 29.

Whitlock will receive the Robert N. Clay President?s Award, presented annually to the board member, individual, or organization that has demonstrated over the past year a commitment in several categories: active participation in Bluegrass Tomorrow projects, active participation in community projects, actions ensuring the continued viability of Bluegrass Tomorrow and support of its vision, mission, and goals.

Moberly will receive the Josephine Abercrombie Award, the highest honor Bluegrass Tomorrow bestows, awarded to an individual who gives selflessly to improve the Bluegrass Region and has as contributed tirelessly to advance the mission of Bluegrass Tomorrow and improve quality of life in Central Kentucky. Moberly, who is not seeking re-election this year after 30 years of service as a state representative, was specifically cited for his contributions to education.

CRAFT, established in 2008 to boost biofuels production from cellulosic sources, will receive a Vision Award for Innovation.

The breakfast, which is open to the public for a donation of $35, is scheduled to begin at 7:30 a.m. at the Griffin Gate Marriott Resort in Lexington.

The annual Vision Awards Breakfast is part of a larger day-long Create Bluegrass event that celebrates young professionals and diversity, and promotes the development of creative talent in the region.

For more information and on-line registration for the Create Bluegrass event and the Vision Awards Breakfast, visit www.bluegrasstomorrow.org.