EKU Update HomeA Newsletter for Eastern Kentucky University Faculty & Staff
Volume 16 • Number 18
July 10, 2015
spacer Printable VersionPrint this issuespacer
In this issue:

Twenty Named Critical Thinking Teachers of the Year at EKU
Twenty members of the EKU faculty were selected as 2014-15 Critical Thinking Teachers of the Year.

They are: Faridah Awang, Management, Marketing & International Business; April Ballard, University Programs; Laura Barthel, Management, Marketing & International Business; Teena Blackburn, Philosophy & Religion; Martin Brock, Chemistry; Lindsay Calderon, Biological Sciences; Michael Collier, Safety, Security & Emergency Management; Jon C. Endonino, Anthropology, Sociology & Social Work; Benjamin Freed, Anthropology, Sociology & Social Work; Malcolm P. Frisbie, Biological Sciences; Gill Hunter, English & Theater; Frank Kubala, College of Justice & Safety; Fred May, Safety, Security & Emergency Management; Kristina Petrey, Sciences Nursing: Associate Degree; Matthew Pianalto, Philosophy & Religion; Beth Polin, Management, Marketing & International Business; Mike Roberson, Management, Marketing & International Business; Karen Rudick, Communication; Bill Staddon, Biological Sciences; and Matthew P. Winslow, Psychology.

This year, 277 instructors were nominated by students for their efforts to help students think critically and creatively about their educational, professional and/or personal lives. Selections were based on students’ comments regarding the instructors’ teaching techniques and interactions with students that promote critical thinking.

“The student comments are yet another indication of the emphasis Eastern Kentucky University instructors place on helping students think critically and creatively in the classroom and beyond,” said Rose Perrine, associate dean of university programs. “All the nominees are to be commended for their commitment to student success. Excellent teachers help make our EKU community so special and help to define the Essential Eastern.”

The honorees were recognized at an awards ceremony on April 30.