spacer spacer spacer 
Other News Channels: EKU Athletics | EKU Students Today | EKU Today | EKUpdate | Eastern Progress | Weather | WEKU-FM  


Information Contact:
Dr. Billy Thames
Seven More Added to College of Education Wall of Honor
August 26, 2009

Eastern Kentucky University’s College of Education has named seven more individuals to its Wall of Honor.

The Wall, which is located on the fourth floor of the Combs Building on EKU’s campus, recognizes those men and women who have made significant contributions to the College or to education or the helping professions in Kentucky.

The latest members of the Wall will be honored at a dinner banquet on Thursday, Oct. 29, at 6:30 p.m. in the Perkins Building. The event is free, but reservations must be made by Oct. 21 by contacting Dr. Billy Thames at 859-622-2581 or at william.thames@eku.edu.

The newest inductees are:

• Dr. Rosalee Edwards, Lexington, who taught at Model Laboratory School from 1973 to 2006. As the school’s sole business teacher, she developed the business education program into a model for the state. She also received an Outstanding Educator Award from the Governor’s Scholars Program and, for her efforts in leading Model’s highly successful mock trial team, twice received the Law-Related Education Award of Achievement from the Kentucky Court of Justice.

• Dr. Richard Lee Gentry, Richmond, who served in EKU’s College of Education from 1964 to 1983. He was supervisor of student teachers in physical education 1964-80 and then served as chair of the Department of Physical Education. He received the Life Membership Award from the Kentucky Association for Health, Physical Education and Recreation, and served as the Association’s president in 1966-67 after 11 years as its treasurer. He was also EKU’s faculty regent 1977-80.

• Dr. William Alfred Morris, Richmond, who taught in EKU’s College of Education from 1969 to 1992, serving the first 10 years as chair of the Department of Elementary Education. He was also a member of several accreditation teams for school districts and colleges in Kentucky.

• Mabel Walker Jennings, deceased, who joined the Model Laboratory School faculty in 1944 and went on to the Department of Elementary Education to teach Fundamentals of Elementary Education and to supervise student teachers. She was a strong supporter of the International Reading Association and a long-time sponsor of the campus chapter of Kappa Delta Pi.

• Sue Long, Richmond, who served as a secretary and administrative assistant in the College from 1980 through 2007. Her responsibilities included preparing class schedules, ordering textbooks, keeping more than 125 course syllabi up to date, and keeping tabs on departmental faculty housed in six different buildings and adjunct faculty scattered throughout the region.

• Michael Caudill, deceased, served as Superintendent of Madison County Schools from 2001 through 2007 after serving as teacher, vice principal and principal of Foley Middle School. He was recognized in 2005 as the Educator of the Year by the National Association for Gifted and Talented Children. In 2008, he posthumously received the F.L. Dupree Award for Creative Educational Administration from the Kentucky School Boards Association.

• Dr. Jon Draud, Edgewood, long time school superintendent in Northern Kentucky who went on to serve as a state legislator and as Kentucky’s Commissioner of Education 2007-09. A member of EKU’s Hall of Distinguished Alumni, he received an honorary doctoral degree from the University in 2009. Draud is also the recipient of the Paul Mason Legislative Advocate for Children Award from the Kentucky Parent Teacher Association, the Walter R. Dunlevy/Frontiersman Award from the Northern Kentucky Chamber of Commerce, and the Kids First Advocacy Award from the Kentucky School Boards Association.

Honorees fall into two categories: faculty and staff, and alumni and friends. To be considered for induction, faculty and staff must be retired, with at least 20 years of service to the College. Alumni and friends must have multiple years of service to the College or to education or the helping professions in Kentucky. In all cases, the nomination letters should outline the nominee’s contributions.

Recipients of significant state, regional or national awards will be immediately eligible for induction, Thames said.

Letters of nomination for the Wall may be sent to Dr. Billy Thames, Combs 213, Eastern Kentucky University, 521 Lancaster Ave., Richmond, Ky., 40475. For more information, contact Thames at 859-622-2581 or william.thames@eku.edu.

EKU News
Jerry Wallace
PR&M Communications